And since the last shall be first, we’ll start with our end of the day just because. We went to see the Lighting Giants tonight and instead of an amazing light show, we got this:
This is a pic from the light show when it’s going on normally, which it’s supposed to do every hour after sunset till 10. Whomp whomp. Our day in Zagreb started with a bang. All 5 of our phones went off with that horrible loud emergency alert noise. Matt, Frankie, and I bolted out of bed to silence all the phones as quickly as we could. Adi and Delaney rolled over and went back to sleep. 🤣 It was an alert that due to the dangerous weather all Zagreb schools would be closed. Good to know. 🤷♀️
We decided to not even try to look around Zagreb, the weather was still terrible. Matt and I walked to get the car and it is so cute here! So many pedestrian walks and cute shops! What might have been.
I took a few pictures as we drove, but you can’t really tell the damage. We made a big mistake with our parking last night. That’s just foreign travel, sometimes you swing and it’s out of the park and sometimes it’s a swing and a miss. There was a misunderstanding about parking being included with our apartment (apparently all I needed to do was ask) and when the host mentioned parking nearby for €13, I guess I thought that was the going rate. Imagine our surprise to find that we’d parked in a €3 an HOUR lot. Goodbye, €47. What are you gonna do?
Then we got on the road and out of Zagreb and it started snowing. The mean rental car lady told us we might find snow on the drive, but seriously. This was at 10:11. We stopped for gas and potties and snacks, and a Matt and Adi photo op.
It just got worse as we went.
And worse. And slower.
Matt really wanted to get a picture and I am famous for my side of the freeway shots.
Also, looking at the Zagreb weather and there was maybe possibly an earthquake too. For good measure.
So our supposed to be 2 hour trip ended up taking 5 hours because instead of going 110 k/h we went 40-60.
It was painfully slow but also necessary.
That’s our little blue dot bopping along right in the middle of the extreme snow and ice warning area.
Finally, finally it started to clear up. And then we were in spring again.
We made it to pula and our first stop was the bathroom, actually for Matt, not me. I mean, I also went, but didn’t need to stop. We got donor kebabs from Arena Fast Food and it was delicious but stressful because we found out after our food was ready that it was cash only and we were €2 short so I tried to take out cash but kept getting denied and tried to chat with our bank but finally had to call. I used to always let the bank know when we were going out of town, but was told you no longer have to do that but I guess with a debit card you do. And imma leave all that long sentence chaotic because it felts chaotic in the moment.
Long story long, we finally made it. Paid €1 for 24 hours of Pula parking and we hit everything on my list to do.
This amphitheater was built right around the time Christ was born. Can’t even imagine.
It’s so beautiful, but we didn’t go in because a - it was €10/each and b - we went to the coliseum 2 years ago.
Easter eggs! Very few of the cute Pula shops were open but I’m really hoping to find a beautiful Easter ornament.
I tried to get anyone to pose for me on the giant anchor, so then when Matt climbed, Delaney decided she could to.
Twin Arch! Another super old monument, like 2nd or 3rd century.
2 seconds after I got that picture this lovely truck drove in front of my crew and stopped to unload. Perfect timing.
We explored all around Zero Strasse which was a bomb shelter during WW1 and 2, which we were very interested in, but they unfortunately did not share a lot of info about.
We checked out the castle and fort above it.
Beautiful Pula.
It was only in the 50°’s but after Zagreb it felt very pleasant to us.
Ships ladder in the tower and our senior baby!
I love spending time with my family.
One hanging Ray at the top and one hanging Ray at the bottom.
I told him to be King of the World but he’s not a Titanic girlie so he did this.
Silly.
Delaney made her way up the stairs to check things out and whoopsie, it was gated. Not everything is open on account of the lack of visitors and the hurricane and blizzard and all.
This was an Italian officer that was captured and actually a really well done hologram of him telling his story.
Hercules Arch!
Another view of one of the Zero Strasse tunnel entrances. We were stoked they had a €15 family pass.
In an attempt to get everyone engaged, I had people take turns being the guide and getting us where we needed to be.
I just call to say I love you too.
I had mapped everything out at home and then moved around the order on my phone map to what made sense to do in which order. And we mostly stuck to my plan, but a few times came upon something to see out of order.
Delaney led us to this Temple of Augustus, only we had crossed the whole square and she was looking at her directions when Adi was like, oh, a temple!
Amazing. #ilovedoors
Some random ruins we came upon.
Probably Agripinina’s home.
More Easter eggs and a crazy Adi.
We got some delicious gelato and as I was taking the picture and trying to get everything and also the gelato place, Delaney was saying “I’m missing! I’m missing!” And trying to get her head in, but it wasn’t registering to me.
And then we laughed and laughed, because we’re still tired and silly.
Arch of Sergei.
We passed by many a cute closed store.
Walking back to the car with a quick walk around the castle moat and walls.
Frankie hung out with Matt and I while Adi and Delaney were thick as thieves. Some days be that way.
We walked the other way around the amphitheater going back to our car and it was definitely the prettier way.
None of us were hungry but it was only 7, and I knew we would be hungry, so we stopped at another supermarket, it this one was in a shopping mall and they had the cutest cheap Ulta and the tiniest IKEA! #lovedit
Another funny moment when we were trying to get a pic of us with more of the amphitheater behind us and Adi suggested we do a video. And then we completely missed Frankie. No missing family members, that seems to be the theme of the day.
So today wasn’t perfect but it was good and all were kind and it was lovely.





















































